Instructions for Local Associations:

Association Executives may nominate REALTORS®, affiliates, or citizens from their own local award winner choices or they may select new nominees. Association Executives are encouraged to form their own committee or utilize an existing awards committee to select nominees.  The REALTOR® of the Year award is the only exception; the nominees for this award MUST be the local association REALTOR® of the Year award winner for the year of application (2018). For the other awards, if you are a member or someone from the public who wishes to nominate a REALTOR®, please contact your local association to suggest the nomination. All nominations are submitted by local associations at their discretion.

  • THE FORMS:  Please fill out the form in its entirety so that all candidates are judged on an even basis. Most awards are judged on a point system so please do not leave any sections blank. We encourage you to work with your nominees to fill in all areas of the nomination form. Forms must be submitted using our forms. Do not submit past year's forms or your own awards forms.
  • PHOTO: Please submit a quality, high-resolution photo of your nominee. Please do not submit low-resolution photos. If you need guidance on this, contact Cara McNeil.The nomination form will be considered incomplete if no photo is submitted or if the photo is unusable.
  • HELP: Washington REALTORS® staff is available to assist you should you have any questions or complications with the form. Washington REALTORS® can provide state committee information if you request it (email with your nominee's name).


Citizen of the Year Award

  • Description:

This award is given to a non-REALTOR® and selection is based on nominee’s contribution of service to the public, i.e., as a public official, educator, business professional, philanthropist, etc. Each year we recognize a non-REALTOR® citizen that makes a significant contribution to the health and vibrancy of our communities.


Affiliate of the Year Award

  • Description:

This award is open to non-REALTORS® associated with the real estate industry such as employees of title companies, lending institutions, appraisers, etc. Affiliates are some of the best supporters of our Association and industry! 


Community Service Award

  • Description:

The REALTOR® Community Service Award is based on the outstanding contributions of a REALTOR® to the local community, as well as being an active professional member of their local Board/Association. This award is based on information and accomplishments over the previous five years.


Partner of the Year

  • Description:

This award is given to a cooperating association, news media, service provider, community activist group, etc.  Selection will be based on community affairs, support of REALTOR® issues and support of REALTOR® efforts overall.


Education Awards

  • The Hugh Hawkins Award

The Hugh Hawkins Award recognizes excellence in real estate teaching. It will be given to the instructor who best reflects the values and skills that Hugh Hawkins brought to the classroom and the industry. Accordingly, the Task Force will consider not just the instructor’s teaching style, but also the extent to which those nominated for the Award imparted information in a way that influences their students, i.e., the extent to which students were inspired to change their behavior and/or the way they do business as well as their commitment to WR Education. 


  • The Eddy Award

The Eddy Award symbolizes the importance of quality education by promoting Realtor® professionalism at the local, state or national level.  Award winners could have contributed through committee work, course development, program development, teaching, assisting in course delivery, or other activities deemed appropriate that contribute to real estate education. 


Life Member Award

  • Guidelines

Nominations for the Life Membership Award must come from either the local or state association. 

All local associations will be notified of the guidelines and provided with the appropriate form/application(s).

The application and criteria for the state award will be the same as used by NAR for the DSA Membership, with the exception of years served. (WR only requires 20 years of service, whereas NAR requires 25.)

Application for the state “Life Membership Award” will be reviewed by the state “Awards Committee” and a points system will be used to select the awardees.

Members receiving the “Life Membership Award” will be recognized at the annual Awards event.

WR will use the same criteria as NAR in limiting the number of recipients in any given year to, “…no more than 2 selected in any given year.” 


REALTOR® of the Year

  • Description:

Since 1955, this award has recognized outstanding service to the Local, State and National Associations as well as community involvement. The REALTOR® of the Year demonstrates what we call “REALTOR® Spirit”, a faithfulness to the principles of the REALTOR® organization, professionalism and the Code of Ethics. The nominee must have been a 2018 Local Association REALTOR® of the Year award recipient to be a candidate and is based on participation and accomplishments over the past five years.


REALTOR® Achievement

  • Description:

The REALTOR® Achievement Award is the most prestigious award Washington REALTORS® bestows. This award is given to the REALTOR® who is active at the local, state and national associations. Nominees must demonstrate involvement in civic, community or business affairs and must exhibit a commitment to education, professionalism and ethical business practices. This award is based on participation and accomplishments over the nominee's career. 


Nominations Deadline

March 4, 2019

Awards Luncheon

WR Spring Business Conference
Tulalip Resort & Casino
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Awards Luncheon, 11:30 AM 

Need Help?

or (360) 943-3100 x 126